Home  | 

Namibia : All People's Party (APP)

Organization Contacts
  • No contacts provided.

Organization Details

The All People's Party (APP) is a political party in Namibia. Registered with the Electoral Commission of Namibia in January 2008, the APP was initially made up primarily of former members of the Congress of Democrats and SWAPO. Among the initial leaders were Chairperson Ignatius Shixwameni and Deputy Chairperson Stephanus Swartbooi. In the November 2009 general election, the party selected Ignatius Shixwameni as their candidate for President.

In the 2009 campaign, the party leadership consisted of President Ignatius Shixwameni, Vice President Reinhold Madala Nauyoma, Secretary General Mukuve Marcellus Mudumbi and National Chairman Herbert Shixwameni. All four of which were activists in the Namibia National Students' Organisation.

Priot to the 2009 general election, the APP sought to eliminate poverty in 5 years and informal settlements in 10 years. In a forum with political parties as part of the Women Claiming Citizenship Campaign, the APP representative Lena Nakatana stated the the human rights of homosexuals in Namibia should be respected because of their equal citizenship.

In October 2009, the APP and the Rehoboth Ratepayers' Association of the Hardap Region agree to a collective agreement to cooperate in the 2009 general elections. Leader of the RRA, Lukas de Klerk, said it was a way for Rehoboth to have representation in the National Assembly of Namibia. De Klerk was listed at the sixth position for the APP on the list for the National Assembly