Home  | 

Add new content to Fast Facts!

  • Official Name: United Republic of Tanzania
  • Government Type: Republic
  • Capital: Dodoma
  • Other Major Cities/Regions: Dar es Salaam, Arusha, Bagamoyo, Zanzibar Island
  • Size: 945,087 sq km (total) slightly larger than twice the size of California
  • Climate: Varies from tropical along coast to temperate in highlands
  • Terrain: Plains along coast; central plateau; highlands in north, south
  • Population: 37,445,392
  • Ethnic Group: Mainland - African 99% (of which 95% are Bantu consisting of more than 130 tribes), other 1% (consisting of Asian, European, and Arab); Zanzibar - Arab, African, mixed Arab and African
  • Religion:mainland - Christian 30%, Muslim 35%, indigenous beliefs 35%; Zanzibar - more than 99% Muslim
  • Languages: Kiswahili or Swahili (official), Kiunguja (name for Swahili in Zanzibar), English (official, primary language of commerce, administration, and higher education), Arabic (widely spoken in Zanzibar), many local languages

Most Active Stories: Tanzania