Home  | 

Add new content to Fast Facts!
CIA World Fact Book,

  • Official Name: Republic of Sudan
  • Government Type: Government of National Unity (GNU) - the National Congress Party (NCP) and Sudan People's Liberation Movement (SPLM) formed a power-sharing government under the 2005 Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA); the NCP, which came to power by military coup in 1989, is the majority partner; the agreement stipulates national elections for the 2008 - 2009 timeframe.
  • Capital: Khartoum
  • Other Major Cities/Regions: Darfur, Juba, Wadi Haifa, Waw, Malakal
  • Size: 2,505,810 sq km
  • Climate: tropical in south; arid desert in north; rainy season varies by region (April to November)
  • Terrain: generally flat, featureless plain; mountains in far south, northeast and west; desert dominates the north
  • Population: 398,379,000
  • Ethnic Groups: black 52%, Arab 39%, Beja 6%, foreigners 2%, other 1%
  • Religion: Sunni Muslim 70% (in north), Christian 5% (mostly in south and Khartoum), indigenous beliefs 25%
  • Language: Arabic (official), Nubian, Ta Bedawie, diverse dialects of Nilotic, Nilo-Hamitic, Sudanic languages, English
    note: program of "Arabization" in process