Home  | 

Add new content to Fast Facts!
CIA World Fact Book,

  • Official Name: Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Government Type: Federal Republic
  • Capital: Abuja
  • Other Major Cities/Regions: Lagos, Wari, Port Harcourt, Kano
  • Size: 923,768 sq km
  • Climate: varies; equatorial in south, tropical in center, arid in north
  • Terrain:  southern lowlands merge into central hills and plateaus; mountains in southeast, plains in north
  • Population: 135,031,000
  • Ethnic Groups: Nigeria, Africa's most populous country, is composed of more than 250 ethnic groups; the following are the most populous and politically influential: Hausa and Fulani 29%, Yoruba 21%, Igbo (Ibo) 18%, Ijaw 10%, Kanuri 4%, Ibibio 3.5%, Tiv 2.5%
  • Religion: Muslim 50%, Christian 40%, indigenous beliefs 10%
  • Language: English (official), Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo (Ibo), Fulani