Home  | 

Add new content to Fast Facts!
CIA World Fact Book,

  • Official Name: Republic of Madagascar
  • Government Type: Republic
  • Capital: Antananarivo
  • Other Major Cities/Regions: Mahajanga, Toamasina, Toliara, Morondava, Antsirabe
  • Size: 587,040 sqkm
  • Climate: tropical along coast, temperate inland, arid in south
  • Terrain: narrow coastal plain, high plateau and mountains in center
  • Population: 19,448,000
  • Ethnic Groups: Malayo-Indonesian (Merina and related Betsileo), Cotiers (mixed African, Malayo-Indonesian, and Arab ancestry - Betsimisaraka, Tsimihety, Antaisaka, Sakalava), French, Indian, Creole, Comoran
  • Religion: indigenous beliefs 52%, Christian 41%, Muslim 7%
  • Language: French (official), Malagasy (official)