Home  | 

Add new content to Fast Facts!

  • Official Name: Burkina Faso
  • Government Type: Parliamentary Republic
  • Capital: Ouagadougou
  • Other Major Cities/Regions: Fadagourma, Banfora,Dedougou, Kaya, Ouahigouya
  • Size: 274,200 sqKm
  • Climate: Tropical
  • Terrain: Mostly flat, hills in west and Southeast
  • Population: 14,326,000
  • Ethnic Groups: Mossi over 40%, other approximately 60% (includes Gurunsi, Senufo, Lobi, Bobo, Mande, and Fulani)
  • Religion: Muslim 50%, indigenous beliefs 40%, Christian (mainly Roman Catholic) 10%
  • Language: French (official), native African languages belonging to Sudanic family spoken by 90% of the population

Most Active Stories: Burkina Faso