Home  | 

Add new content to History!
Africa 2006,

 Late in the 16th Century the Embo-Nguni people moved into southern Africa and settled in what is today southern Mozambique. Towards the middle of the 18th Century, King Ngwane III led the Dlamini and related clans across the Lebombo Mountains into Swaziland. Culminating with the rule of King Mswati the Dlamini clan extended their power over an area much larger than modern Swaziland and became known as the amaSwati or Swazi. In 1846 white migrants from the Cape Colony laid claim to a large portion, insisting that Mswati II had ceded it to them by treaty. Swazi denials were fruitless and the kingdom continued to shrink. In 1895 Swaziland came under the administrative control of President Paul Kruger's Transvaal Republic. The Anglo-Boer War of 1899-1902 brought this arrangement to an end and in 1903 Britain took over. In 1968 Swaziland's independence was restored under King Sobhuza who ruled as an absolute monarch until his death in 1982. Several of Sobhuza's 67 sons from marriages to 100 wives engaged in a power struggle which was eventually resolved when King Mswati III took to the throne in 1986. King Mswati has reintroduced Swaziland's old, non-party political system of Tinkhundlas-a collection of chiefdoms serving as constituencies.